Will I ever get it done….?

Standard

A close friend of mine has just found out that her husband has cancer. At the very least, he will be spending the next 12 months going through chemo, radiotherapy, and surgeries. Or else he will be classed as being for palliative care only, which may be the case in the end anyway.

I am in another state to my friend and her family, so I can’t be there to babysit the kids during doctor’s visits or hospital stays, or supply casseroles and such so they don’t have to think about cooking when they least feel like it, so I have to be creative in showing my support and love.

So I have decided that it would be really nice to make a “memory quilt”, so that my friend’s hubby has got something to take with him to hospital that will keep his family nearby, so to speak. I have gone through and downloaded some of the photos from my friend’s facebook acount, and I plan to use them in the quilt (in an iron-on format), along with fabric that has some sort of meaning – prints to remind him of his wife, his kids, his pets, and his favourite things.

But I rarely manage to finish all these great projects that I have planned. Life just seems to get in the way, and when I have the time, I find I forget all about these big plans, and I fluff around doing nothing much apart from time wasting. This is one project that I really want to complete…and I’d even like to take things further and do cuddle rugs for the kids, and a quilt for my friend, so they have something similar to remind them of their Dad/husband when he’s in hospital….or worse.

But will my desire to do this project ever be enough to motivate me to get it done?

Fingers crossed!!

2 responses »

  1. So sorry to hear about your friend’s husband. My hubby and I went through the same thing 8 years ago and it was emotionally tough for me and physically draining for him. But he is cancer free now and we breath easier. Your friend will appreciate your emotional support for the long haul.
    Maybe you will have the hyper focus to get the quilt done, or you will find that the incentive will be strong enough to carry the project through. OR, maybe you could get a few other people to help you out. In any case, your heart is in the right place:)

    • Unfortunately, nobody will ever know where my heart is if I don’t produce evidence! I am making good inroads into the “must do” pile of sewing I have, so that I can make a start. I’m just hoping I don’t get burnt out by the time the “must do” stuff is out of the way. At least some of the more urgent sewing is earning me some money, which I can then use for the big expenses of a quilt – the backing and batting. Hopefully I will have enough left over to buy some masculine fabric to augment the variety of fabric I already have in my stash.

      For now, I can make use of my free time (the time when I cannot sew, due to not being home) by looking through quilting magazines and deciding on a pattern. Something fairly easy, but effective. I have done a log cabin before, and that wasn’t too bad, so that’s a possibility – I can put photos in the centres of the blocks, or just replace some log cabin blocks with photo blocks. Hmmm…..decisions, decisions!

Leave a Reply

